On the road, passing through the territory of the Gudauta district, we head to a small but surprisingly beautiful city located in 80 (eighty) kilometers from the Russian border - New Athos.
On the right side of the road, are Myussersky hills. Myussera - is part of a large coastal village Mgudzyrhua Abkhazia. The exact name of the Abkhazian village - Misr - which means "Egypt."
There are two versions of this title. First: the Abkhazians were sailors, and arriving home from Egypt, called the hills "Misr", in memory of a perfect journey into a far country. The second version is a bit different: the Egyptians approached the coast of Abkhazia, and say, 'Misr!', So these hills reminded them of their homeland. In the language of the Abkhazians found some words that resonate with the ancient Egyptian: amserkiad - papyrus paper, Misr-Acura - the name of the river, near the New Athos, and some others. But it is doubtful whether this can be considered an accident, apparently, in ancient times there were some contacts between Egypt and Colchis.
New Athos is located at the foot of two picturesque mountains of the Iberian and Athos. Here on Mount Athos, Athos is an Orthodox male Simoneau-Kananitsky monastery. New Athos Monastery was founded in 1875 by Russian monks of St. Panteleimon Monastery, which is located on the Mount Athos, in Greece. On behalf of the monastery, the neighborhood was named - New Athos. The area intended for the construction of the monastery, was a wild and desolate. It took years of hard work to clear the impenetrable thickets, cut off part of the mountain and to strengthen the slope to fill the gap, and, almost without the help of experts, to set up a magnificent temple on the mountain.
The foundation stone of the monastery, laid during his visit in 1888, the Russian Emperor Alexander III. The king arrived in New Athos on board, and the path on which he walked from the dock to the monastery, was lined with cypress trees and named royal mall.
The monastery is a unique monument of architecture and art in the late XIX century. The main temple is located in the center of the monastery complex and dedicated to the Holy Great Martyr and Healer Panteleimon. Built in 1888 - 1890-ies by the architect Nikonov, it is a wonderful example of the creation of Russian architects.
The architecture of the cathedral belongs to the Byzantine style, different sizes of the majestic, and the cathedral can be simultaneously up to 3000 (three thousand) people.
Not far from the temple is a cave in which the legend would be alone and pray Simon the Zealot. Monastery was built in the holy place for all Christians - the ancient temple of St. Simon the Zealot, where his holy relics.
The Cathedral is a cross-shaped, pentagonal and trehknehtny temple length of 53 (fifty three) meters and a width of 33 (thirty three) meters. His crown of five (5) domes height of the main of which - forty (40) feet. Central limit church dedicated to St. Panteleimon, the icon which is located on the main lectern in the center, and is an accurate list of the miracle-working icon, located in the old Mount Athos in Greece, passed in 1876 as a blessing.
The monastery built five temples, built over the holy gates of Holy Ascension, and the corners are triangle in the monastery church.
Cathedral was painted in 1913, the last abbot of the monastery Archimandrite Hilarion, and the work carried out to the design and under the guidance of artist Serebryakov. Performer workshop was led by brothers Olovyannikovyh artist breakwaters.
Fresco painting is interesting in the sense that one of the last monuments of Russian church icon painting school. In the style of late Byzantium, painted different, mainly a combination of blue, gold and brown tones.
Many of the murals are made in an allegorical style with characteristic scenes of early Christian paintings. Shrine of the monastery is the miraculous tree of the cross with a particle of the Holy Cross. In 1924, after the closure of the monastery cathedral was used as a club, and then there is a museum.
The revival of the monastery began in 1994, in 2002, the monastery was opened seminary. Near the religious school under the bell tower is the refectory, calculated for 1000 (one thousand) people.
At the foot of Mount Athos, near the artificial waterfall is a small church built in the heyday of ancient Anakopia. It is a unique monument of ancient Byzantine church architecture. According to Christian tradition, the temple was built on the relics of Simon the Zealot - one of the twelve apostles of Christ.
Athos waterfall built in 1882, cement dam blocks a river Ptsirtshu, and forms a small pond. Water poured over the dam, falls from a height of ten (10) feet and rushes down to the park.